blogging it up :)

For a while I’ve been thinking I should get a blog, because I like to crochet, and I like to show other people what I crochet. As I’ve been designing more of my own patterns and changing other patterns (rather drastically at times) to conform to my standards of beauty (i.e. no bobble stitches allowed!!!!!) I thought to myself: “self, I bet other people would really enjoy seeing these patterns. Maybe even as much as you would enjoy showing them off.” So I decided to go ahead and make a blog. I have a feeling that I will be updating only very sporadically, but hey, you do what you can, right? I never promised to be the next crazy blogger of the year 🙂

That said, I guess it’s time to post my first afghan! This one owes a lot to Champygirl over at the Crochetville website, who was my inspiration and the creator of the pteridactyl square (though it was originally created to be a winged dragon square.) You can see the original square pattern at: http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=84618.  I enjoyed making that square so much I decided to make 4 other types of dinsosaur appliques to go with it! Plus a palm tree.

Here’s some closeups of the individual dinosaurs.

Some stegasaurus

dimetredon

brontosaurus

triceratops and palm trees

If I were to make this afghan again, I would be a lot more careful about how I sewed the dinosaurs down, because they’re kind of going every which way, but as a first attempt, I’m rather proud of it.  Patterns will follow for the appliques… after I remember how I made them…

~ by oflions on October 11, 2010.

5 Responses to “blogging it up :)”

  1. BECCA!!!!!! I am so honored that the first afghan you write about is mine!!!!! i sleep with it every night and i use it all the time around the apartment =) this afghan is awesome!!!!

    love you!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. Your afghan is awesome. The dinosaurs and tree squares are so neat. I glad that you were inspired by the winged dragon square.

    Happy crocheting!! 🙂

  3. I was wondering if you could share your triceratops pattern with me. I saw it in your afgan and it would be so awesome to learn how to make!!!! Thanks so much!!!

  4. Your dinosaur patterns are fantastic!!!! I was wondering if you would share your triceratops pattern with me? I have been looking for a triceratops pattern for awhile now and yours is awesome!!!
    Thank You!!!

Leave a Reply

 
