Buttons!

I love buttons. I think it’s partially because they’re little and colorful, but whatever the reasoning, I’m just fascinated with them. Nearly two years ago, I had to buy some buttons for a project I was making and I was drawn in by the super value pack of buttons at my local A.C. Moore. Why buy 4 buttons when I can have 400 for just an extra $2.00, right?

They’re mine, all mine!!! *maniacal laugher and tossing of buttons*

Ever since then, they’re been sitting on my desk or dresser or end table, or wherever they happen to be at the moment luring me with a siren call: “I’m a button, use me in a project!”  How could I resist such a plea? I made plans for a button afghan, but my husband said “Wouldn’t the buttons get caught in all the other afghans?” How sensible, true, and disappointing. I let the idea drop. But then this summer the idea sprang fully formed into my mind. What about a button scarf? There was no stopping me.

Here’s how I did it.

Materials:

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft Plum Perfect, 1 skein. A small amount of other colors (yellow, red and green shown) if desired.

Crochet Hooks: Size H/8 (5 mm), Size 7 (1.65 mm)

139 Medium Size Multicolor Buttons (more or less as desired)

Pattern:

Row 1: With size H hook, ch 43, leaving an end long enough to be part of your fringe, turn. Dc in 4th ch from hook, *ch 5, skip next 5 ch, dc in each of next 3 ch; rep from * across, ending with dc in each of last 2 ch, turn.

Row 2: Ch 3 (counts as dc), 9 dc in each ch 5 loop acrossto last ch 5 loop, sk next dc, dc in 3rd ch of turning ch, turn.

Row 3: Ch 5 (counts as dc, ch 2) skip first 4 dc, dc in each of next 3 dc. *ch 2, switch to size 7 hook, sc through buttonhole, switch back to size H hook, ch 2, skip next 6 dc, dc in each of nect 3 dc, rep from * across, to withing last 4 sts, ch 2, skip next 3 dc, dc in 3rd ch of turning ch, turn.

Row 4: Ch 3 (counts as dc), 4 dc in next ch 2 sp, 9 dc in each ch5 loop across to last ch 5 loop, 4 dc in ch 2 space of turning ch, dc in 3rd ch of turning chain, turn.

Row 5: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip first dc, dc in next dc, *ch 2, switch to size 7 hook, sc through buttonhole, switch back to size H hook, ch 2, skip next 6 dc**, dc in next 3 dc; rep from * across, ending last rep at **, dc in next dc, dc in last ch of turning ch, turn.

Rep rows 2-5 fourteen more times. Rep rows 2-4 one more time.

Last Row: Ch 3 (counts as dc), skip first dc, dc in next dc, *ch 5, skip next 6 dc**, dc in next 3 dc; rep from * across, ending last rep at **, dc in next dc, dc in last ch of turning ch, fasten off. Leave a long enough tail to be part of your fringe.

Finishing:

Cut 120 purple fringe pieces. I did this using a dvd case, you can use whatever method you like. Cut 10 pieces of each of your accent colors (I used red, yellow and green). Separate the yarn into 30 equal piles and add one of the accent colors to each of the piles. Each large space on the end gets 3 of the piles. I did this so that the end didn’t bunch up, because when I attached each pile of fringe as a whole, it looked silly. I don’t really know how to explain it, but if you want to know, try it yourself and see what I mean.

There is no weaving in of ends unless you’re silly like me and forget to make your ends long so they blend in with the scarf. Voila! A scarf of as many buttons as you could wish!

Here’s a close-up of the buttons

And here’s the whole thing laid out on the rug

~ by oflions on October 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
