Button Flap Hat Pattern

Every October or November there comes a nice cool day when I think to myself, “do I have enough hats for the winter?” I am a person who is greatly saddened by having cold ears or a cold head, and so this is a very important time for me. Each year I conclude that I need more hats, and generally make at least two or three. In fall and winter of 2010, I made 9 hats. That was a little much. Last year I just made 1. This year, I made a couple hats and “upgraded” a few more, so I thought I’d make November hat month on my blog and share what’s on deck to warm my ears this winter.

The first hat in my round up was inspired by hats from the 1920’s, but I also wanted it to have earflaps for warmth, ones that fastened with a button at the neck. This hat may sound familiar, because I originally posted it in my hat roundup of a few years ago. However, I never ended up posting a pattern here, and every time I looked at the hat I thought, “you know, that hat needs something.” I finally discovered what that something is: a band. Yes, a band.

Take a look at these before and after photos:

Before

After

Beyond the fact that I am warm in the second picture and so I look a lot happier, I think the addition of a blue band made the hat much better looking. I would have liked the band to be navy blue, but I didn’t have enough of the yarn I wanted, and I didn’t want to buy a whole skein of yarn that I had no other plans for when I have so much yarn already. So I just used a lighter color that I already had. Anyway, on to the pattern!

Materials:

As embarrassing as it is, because I received this yarn “hand me down”, I have no idea what brand of yarn is that I made this hat out of. It’s similar to Lion Brand Homespun yarn, but it’s a bit heavier/more dense, so maybe it’s made of cotton instead of acrylic? Any rug type of yarn should work, but I’m not 100% on that. The gauge is about 10 sts across= 3 in, and there are 4 rows to the inch, working in knitted single crochet with a size J hook. I am working on trying to figure out what this yarn is, so if anyone knows, tell me! Here’s a picture:

– One skein (main color), one skein Caron Simply Soft Dark Country Blue (for the band), Worsted Weight yarn in accent colors of your choice (I used Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice Mustard (A), Rust (B), and Red Heart Navy Blue (C), but the flower’s so small it’d be silly to buy yarn for it, so you should just use whatever’s in your stash.)

– Size J, H, and G crochet hooks

– yarn needle

– stitch marker

– button

Pattern Stitches:

Knit Stitch (kn sc): Worked like a regular single crochet, except instead of working in the loops like you usually do, you insert the hook through the middle of the stitch. This makes the pattern look like stockinette stitch does in knitting, especially on hats when you’re working all on one side.

Knit Stitch Crochet (do this)

regular single crochet (don’t do this)

Afghan Stitch:

Follow this lovely tutorial for afghan stitch.

Pattern:

Row 1: Using Main color and size J hook , ch 4 join to form a loop. ch 1, ( doesn’t count as first sc), sc 10 times in loop, do not join. (10 sts)

Row 2: mark beginning of row with stitch marker. 2 kn sc in each sc around. (20 sts)

Row 3: kn sc in each kn sc around (20 sts)

Row 4: *kn sc in 1st kn sc, 2 kn sc in next kn sc, rep from * around. (30 sts)

Row 5: kn sc in each kn sc around (30 sts)

Row 6: *kn sc in first 2 kn sc, 2 kn sc in 3rd kn sc, rep from *around. (40 sts)

Row 7: kn sc in each kn sc. (40 sts)

Row 8: *kn sc in first 3 kn sc, 2 kn sc in 4th kn sc, rep from * around. (50 sts)

Row 9 : kn sc in each kn sc. (50 sts)

Row 10: *kn sc in first 4 kn sc, 2 kn sc in 5th kn sc, rep from * around. (60 sts)

Row 11: kn sc in each kn sc. (60 sts)

Row 12: *kn sc in first 5 kn sc, 2 kn sc in 6th kn sc, rep from * around. (70 sts)

Rows 13- 26: kn sc in each kn sc, sl st to first st of row, fasten off.

Earflaps:

Left (Button) side:

Row 1: attach main color 20 sts to left of center back. ch 1, kn sc in next 12 kn sc, ch 1, turn. (12 sts)

Row 2: pick up a loop in 1st and second kn sc, yo and pull through all loops on hook (decrease kn sc). kn sc in next 8 kn sc, decrease kn sc in last 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (10 sts)

Row 3: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn. (10 sts)

Row 4: decrease kn sc in first 2 sts, kn sc in next 6 sts, decrease kn sc in last 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (8 sts)

Row 5: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn. (8 sts)

Row 6: decrease kn sc in first 2 sts, kn sc in next 4 sts, decrease sc in next 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (6 sts)

Rows 7-15: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn. (last time, fasten off)

Right Side:

Row 1: attach main color 10 sts to right of center back. ch 1, kn sc in next 12 kn sc, ch 1, turn. (12 sts)

Row 2: pick up a loop in 1st and second kn sc, yo and pull through all loops on hook (decrease kn sc). kn sc in next 8 kn sc, decrease kn sc in last 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (10 sts)

Row 3: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn. (10 sts)

Row 4: decrease kn sc in first 2 sts, kn sc in next 6 sts, decrease kn sc in last 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (8 sts)

Row 5: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn. (8 sts)

Row 6: decrease kn sc in first 2 sts, kn sc in next 4 sts, decrease sc in next 2 sts, ch 1, turn. (6 sts)

Rows 7-12: kn sc in each kn sc across, ch 1, turn.

Row 13: kn sc in first 3 kn sc, ch 1, skip next kn sc, kn sc in next 2 kn sc, fasten off. (buttonhole made)

Edging:

Attach main color to center back. ch 1, sc around entire hat edge, including flaps. sl st to first ch 1, fasten off.

Weave in ends, attach button to left side flap so it is opposite the button hole on the other side, adjusting placement so it is snug for you. I attached my button with some yarn and a yarn needle, then knotted it behind the button and wove in the ends, you can use needle and thread if you choose.

Band:

Using size G hook and Dark Country Blue yarn, ch 8, work in afghan stitch for however long your band needs to be. (you don’t need a special hook because the band is so thin). I didn’t count my rows, just worked it until I knew for sure it was long enough and maybe a little too long, didn’t fasten off, and started sewing the band onto the hat with the matching yarn. Then I adjusted the length when I knew how long it needed to be. When both long sides are sewn down, leave a long tail at the end of the band, fasten off, and sew the two ends of the band together. Weave in ends.

Flower:

So, I looked at a couple flowers on the internet, and didn’t find what I was looking for and so I decided to make my own. If this flower isn’t to your specifications, feel free to use your own favorite flower pattern.

Row 1: With color A and hook size H, ch 4 and join to form a loop. ch 1, 10 sc in loop, sl to first sc of loop. *ch 7, sl st in 2nd ch from hook, sc in next ch, hdc in next ch, dc in next ch, hdc in next ch, sc in next ch, sl st to 2nd sc in loop. rep from * 4 more times, fasten off.

Row 2: Attach color B to any sc of 1st color’s center circle. ch 1, sc, [ch 2, 2 sc] 4 times, ch 2, sl st to first ch 1. ch 1, [sc, hdc, 3 dc, hdc, sc] in each ch 2 loop around, sl to beginning ch 1, fasten off.

Row 3: With color C, ch 4 and join with a sl st to form a loop, ch 1, (counts as first sc), 11 sc in loop, join with a sl st. Fasten off with a very long tail. Sew the blue center to the dark orange middle, then use the rest of the tail to attach the flower to the hat where desired. Weave in ends.

And it’s done!

Left Side, with Button

Center

Right Side, with Flower

~ by oflions on November 1, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
