Braided Hat Band Pattern

Hats are good, but when you wear a hat with a ponytail, you can’t help looking a bit silly, because you have that lump on the back of your head, and your hat slides up awkwardly.

Now my ponytail can stick out

I realized the solution when I saw some kids walking by my house one day. One of the girls was wearing a red knit band over her head. It was about 4-5 inches across at the top, and maybe 2.5-3 inches where it buttoned in the back. The button did me in; I just can’t resist a good button. I thought “Hey, I could put my ponytail through the hole, and my ears would be warm without the awkward hat bump!

Hat bands may or may not be stylish (I wouldn’t really know?) but I do know that I had a skein of yarn just begging to be made into a nice braided ear-warming hat band.

Pattern:

Materials:

– 1 skein Lion Brand Hometown USA Fort Worth Blue

– set of size 10.5 knitting needles

Just thought you’d want to see the bottom of my head. Also, button!

– cable needle (if needed)

– Size J crochet hook

– 1-2  1-inch buttons

– yarn needle

Pattern:

Row 1: Cast on 7 stitches to knitting needle, p 1, k 1, rep across, ending with p 1.

Row 2: k 1, p 1, rep across ending with k 1.

Row 3: p 1, kfb in next 4 sts, k 1, p 1. (11 sts)

Row 4,6: k 1, p1, rep across ending with k 1.

Row 5: p 1, k 1, rep across ending with k 1.

Row 7: p 1, k 1, p 1, kfb in next 4 sts, k 1, p1, k 1, p 1. (15 sts)

Row 8,10,12,14: k 1, p 1, k 1, p 9, k 1, p 1, k 1.

Row 9: p 1, k 1, p 1, k 3, C6B (cables are halfway down the page), p 1, k 1, p 1.

Row 11: p 1, k 1, p 1, k 9, p 1, k 1, p 1.

Row 13: p 1, k 1, p 1, C6F, k 3, p 1, k 1, p 1.

Row 15: p 1, k 1, p 1, k 9, p 1, k 1, p 1.

repeat rows 8-15 eight times.

Row 16: k 1, p 1, k 1, p 9, k 1, p 1, k 1.

Row 17: p 1, k 1, p 1, k 3, C6B, p 1, k 1, p 1.

Row 18: k 1, p 1, k 1, p 9, k 1, p 1, k 1.

Row 19: p 1, k 1, p 1, skp, k2tog, skp, k2tog, k 1, p 1, k 1, p1. (11 sts)

Row 20: k 1, p 1, rep across, ending with k 1.

Row 21: p 1, skp, p2tog, skp, p2tog, k 1, p1. (7 sts)

Row 22: k 1, p 1, rep across ending with k 1.

Row 23: bind off, do not fasten off.

Here it is spread out on the floor.

Border:

Using size J crochet hook, ch 1, sc in corner st. *sc in side of first row of knitting (long side), sc in next row, skip next row. rep from * to the corner, 3 sc in corner st, 2 sc on short end of band, 3 sc in corner st, rep from * to corner, 3 sc in the corner, sc, ch 1 (buttonhole), sc, sc in corner st, ch 1, turn. sc in first sc over from the corner, sc in ch 1 space, sc in next sc, sl st into corner sc, fasten off.

Finishing:

Sew 1-2 buttons to the end without a buttonhole. I sewed on two so I could wear it loose or tight, depending on how warm I wanted to be.

Weave in ends.

It also makes a cute little slug

~ by oflions on November 22, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
