Shells Hat Pattern

It ended up kind of fluffy

For my last hat of the month I had a whole bunch of different ideas. I was thinking of making this lovely braided hat, or knitting up a crazy cable-ey fleece lined hat of joy, but nothing worked out how I thought it would. The yarn I used for the braided hat ended up obscuring the pattern, and every time I thought about trying to make my own crazy cables hat I got scared.

Then halfway through the month, I was looking at etsy patterns, and I saw one with buttons. It was worked vertically instead of in the round, and the sides buttoned together. I was immediately like “I could make that. I should make that. I must make that!” The pattern was for sale, but since I’m poor and unemployed, I thought I could probably figure it out on my own. However, that is not the hat that is here. (In fact, now looking back at that hat, the only similarity is that they both have buttons on the side) Instead I made a different hat based on that hat. (Partly because I didn’t want to get into the whole stealing someone’s idea that they’re trying to sell and posting it on my blog thing)

Anyway.

I’ve always liked shells, and I once invented another shell hat, which I’m still telling myself that one day I’ll probably write down the pattern for, but in the meantime, I decided to make my vertical button hat in shells also. Because shells are just pretty great.

Materials:

– 1 skein Red Heart Magenta (MC)

– 1 skein Patons Lace Yarn Vintage (Optional accent color, AC)

The buttons are so irresistable

– size I and F crochet hooks

– 3 buttons (3/4 in to 1 in big)

– yarn needle

– needle and thread

Pattern:

Row 1: with MC and size I hook, ch 4 and join to form a loop. ch 31, sc in second ch from hook. *Skip next 2 ch, 5 dc in next ch, skip next 2 ch, sc in next ch, rep from * 3 more times, skip next 2 ch, 5 dc in next ch, skip last 2 ch, sc in ch 4 loop.

Row 2: turn, sl st into first two dc of shell, sc in third dc of shell. *5 dc in sc, sc in third dc of shell, rep from * 3 more times, 3 dc in last sc, ch 1, turn.

Row 3: sc in first dc, 5 dc in sc, *sc in third dc, 5 dc in sc, rep from * 2 more times, sc in third dc, turn.

Row 4: sl st into first 2 dc of just completed shell, *sc in third dc of shell, 5 dc in sc, rep from * once more, sc in third dc, 3 dc in last sc, ch 1, turn.

Row 5: sc in first dc, *5 dc in next sc, sc in third dc, rep from * 2 more times, 5 dc in first sc of row 4, sc in 3rd dc of first shell of row 3, 5 dc in first sc of row 2, sc in center ch 4 loop.

Rep rows 2-5 eleven more times, fasten off.

Border:

Row 1: with MC and size I hook, connect yarn to beginning sc. Ch 1, sc in beginning sc, *5 dc in bottom edge of hat, sc in bottom edge of hat, rep from * around. (I had 16 shells, but I just made them at what looked like the correct intervals, I didn’t try to count or anything. The more shells you put on the bottom, the more of a ruffle effect you’ll get.)

Row 2 (Optional): With AC and size F hook, attach yarn to far back loop (so both top loops are showing in the front) of wavy end on wrong side. ch 2, 2 hdc in first stitch. 3 hdc in each of next 4 sts, *2 hdc in each of next 3 sts, 3 hdc in each of next three sts, rep from * 14 (or your number of shells minus 2) times, 3 hdc in last dc, fasten off. (don’t do anything in the final sc)

This is the way you would normally crochet into the stitch. This is not the way we’re doing it.

Instead, insert the hook into the kind of loop looking thing behind the top of the stitch.

This is the way it looks when you actually have the yarn around the hook ready to do a hdc.

This is how it looks after you’re finished putting in the edging. There’s a nice braid-y border around the edge

Finishing:

Line buttons up with the holes in the final row of shells, and sew them down to the second row of shells. Back stitch the last row on top of the second row, all the way down to the top button, fasten off.

Sew the buttons down like this. The “buttonholes” are the naturally occurring spaces from the shell pattern.

This picture shows how to sew down hat seam to the buttons. I did a backstitch right along the edge.

Weave in ends.

Many thanks to my sister for being a guest hat model! And sorry for the not-so-great picture quality…  I took the pictures at night, then gave the hat away to my sister… If you need better quality pics, let me know!

~ by oflions on November 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
