Garland of Stars

I always enjoy the end of the year; Thanksgiving rolls around and starts off the festivities and then I feel like it’s time to party til New Years! I’m firmly in the camp of waiting until after Thanksgiving to start thinking about Christmas, but once December starts, my mind is full of fun ideas for decorating.

One of my favorite things that I’ve made to decorate our house is my star garland. I’ve loved garlands since I was a kid, even though my family couldn’t have them on the tree because the dog would eat them. I still enjoyed their fluffiness and sparkle. Now that I’m dog-free, I can have all the garlands I want!

I used my freedom to come up with a crocheted star garland to hang around the house.

Our arch is so perfect for hanging things on!

Our arch is so perfect for hanging things on!

Star Pattern:

Materials:

– Size H hook

– Red heart yarn, in any colors desired. (or other yarn… I basically used whatever scraps I had left over from all the projects I’ve been working on, but different size yarns will

call for different sized hooks)

– yarn needle

Pattern:

Row 1: ch 4, join to form a loop. ch 1, *sc

in loop, ch 3, rep from * 4 more times, join with sl st to first ch 1.

Row 2: ch 1, *2 sc in ch 3 space. ch 2, sc in

side of last sc (see pictures), sc in ch 3 space. Repeat from * 4 more times, join with sl st to first ch 1, fasten off.

Right after you ch 2

Right after you ch 2

insert hook into the side of the sc

insert hook into the side of the sc

finish the sc normally

the finished star!

After all the stars are finished, weave in the ends, and connect all the stars with a ch. I chained 10-15 chains in between each star, and connected to the point of the star with a sc.

A closeup view of some of the stars

more stars!

a side view

a side view

~ by oflions on December 6, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
