Dinosaurs Revisited: T-Rex Applique Pattern

I was glancing over my past posts (admiring my handiwork :P) and realized that conspicuously absent from the list was the king of dinosaurs, Tyrannosaurus Rex. Since not just one, but two projects bogged down this week, and I’ve been overcome with a case of the January’s (cold, grey, wet… blah), I thought a quick easy project would be the cure. Even with taking parts of the T. Rex apart and trying to get the image in my head to match the one in my hand, it took less than an hour. And now that the pattern is done, it should take you about a quarter of that!

I am king of the dinosaurs, fear me!

I am king of the dinosaurs, fear me!

Materials:

– Caron Simply Soft Yarn

– Size G crochet hook

Pattern:

Base: Ch 4, join to form a ring. Ch 2 (counts as first dc), dc 15 in ring, join to second ch of ch 2 with a slip stitch.

Easy part's done!

Easy part’s done!

Tail: Ch 10, sl st in third ch from hook, sc in each of next 2 ch, hdc in each of next 3 ch, dc in last 2 ch, join with a slip stitch to 2nd dc on base. Slip stitch into next 4 dc on base.

This is the stitch the tail connects to, two dc's away from where you started.

This is the stitch the tail connects to, two dc’s away from where you started.

Ready to move on to the torso!

Ready to move on to the torso!

Torso: Ch 13, hdc in 3rd ch from hook and 4th ch from hook. Dc into next ch. (Yo, draw up a loop in next ch, yo, draw through one loop on hook) 4 times (5 loops on hook), yo, draw through all 5 loops on the hook (back of head formed).

Basically, you finish half of a dc four times...

Basically, you finish half of a dc four times…

Then finish them all off together. I think this is called a cluster, but my terminology is a bit shaky.

Then finish them all off together. I think this is called a cluster, but my terminology is a bit shaky.

Ch 4, sc in 2nd chain from hook, and next 2 ch. Sc in top side of last dc of head (lower jaw formed).

The lower jaw is fairly straightforward...

The lower jaw is fairly straightforward…

until you sc in the side of the last dc on the neck

until you sc in the side of the last dc on the neck

It fills up a hole that would otherwise be there.

It fills up a hole that would otherwise be there.

Dc into next 2 ch spaces of original ch 13. Ch 5, sl st into 2rd ch from hook, pull up a loop in next 2 ch (3 loops on hook), pull last loop through both of the other loops on the hook (elbow formed).

the elbow is similar to the cluster at the back of the head, but it's made of slip stitches instead.

the elbow is similar to the cluster at the back of the head, but it’s made of slip stitches instead.

also, you just pull the last slip stitch through the other two without yarning over.

also, you just pull the last slip stitch through the other two without yarning over.

Sc in last ch of arm. Htc in next ch of original ch 13, tc in last ch, join torso with a slip stitch to 4th dc on base, sl st into next dc on base.

Instead of a freestanding htc and tc, I connected them to the side of the preceding stitches by pulling up two loops from the side of the previous stitch.

Instead of a freestanding htc and tc, I connected them to the side of the preceding stitches by pulling up two loops from the side of the previous stitch.

Then connect it to the 4th dc on the base, not counting the dc it came out of.

Then connect it to the 4th dc on the base, not counting the dc it came out of.

Torso completed!

Torso completed!

Front Leg: Ch 7, sl st in 2nd ch from hook. 2 sc in next ch, sc in next ch. Draw up a loop in next 3 ch (4 loops on hook), yo and draw through all 4 loops. Join with a sl st to 2nd dc on base. Sl st into next dc on base.

This time it's a sc cluster over 3 st

This time it’s a sc cluster over 3 st

Connect to the second dc on the base, not counting the one you started in.

Connect to the second dc on the base, not counting the one you started in.

Back Leg: Ch 5, sl st into 2nd ch from hook. 2 sc in next ch, 1 sc in each of following 2 ch. Join behind tail in the dc that the tail comes out of. Fasten off, leaving a long end to sew down the applique if desired.

I turned the base over and connected behind the tail.

I turned the base over and connected behind the tail.

here's a front and back view!

here’s a front and back view!

 

Measures 5 inches from nose to tail.

~ by oflions on January 10, 2013.

22 Responses to “Dinosaurs Revisited: T-Rex Applique Pattern”

  1. I love this little guy so much! But I have tried to follow the pattern more than 5 times and not reached the same result. The head and small front arm don’t attach the way they do in your photo, nor does the head have the same curve and the front leg in your photo has a bend, but the pattern has not seem to create that either 😦 is there any chance you could try to follow this pattern again and see if its just me misunderstanding or if there is s flaw in the written pattern?

    • Thanks for pointing this out! There were several mistakes and things that weren’t clear. I tried to update it with some pictures to show exactly what I was doing, but I’m not sure if the pictures make it a little hard to follow. Let me know if it’s any better! 🙂

  2. (Sorry if this is posted twice, not sure if first one worked and I’m determined to make these because they’re so great!) I have tried to follow the pattern five times and none of those have turned out as yours did! The main issue being the head/neck/connection between the head/body/forearm. Could it be me misunderstanding or perhaps a missing part or flaw in the pattern?

  3. Yay!! Thank you so much! It worked! I’m so excited to make a little bunting of these. Thank you for revising it!

  4. I made my T-rex into a headband 🙂
    Thanks for the pattern and the pictures were a huuuuge help!
    http://thewayicrochet.blogspot.ca/2013/10/dinosaur-headband-crochet-pattern.html

  5. I love these, well done! I love your lion bookmarks as well 🙂

  6. great pattern! thank you, made 3 this morning for the little grandsons!

  7. Reblogged this on Clover's pages.

  8. love it !!! your pattern and instructions were very easy to follow thank you 🙂 mine came out great the first time woohoo

  9. Hi! Thank you for this awesome pattern, but I am wondering if htc means the same as hdc? I was stumped when I got to that part so I googled htc and I couldn’t find anything. All of the tutorials were the same as a hdc. Thanks again! I’m putting this on a hat once I’m done. 🙂

    • htc stands for half triple crochet. I’m not sure it’s actually a thing, but it’s the same idea as hdc. To do a htc, you yarn over 3 times (like you would for a triple crochet), insert the hook in the stitch, yarn over and pull through 2 loops, then yarn over and pull through all 3 loops. It’s like an intermediate level between dc and tc 🙂 hope this helps!

  10. I love it. It looks great.

  11. Hi. Your wee dinosaur is gorgeous, thank you for sharing it! I’ve added your pattern to the ravelry database here:
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/t-rex-applique-pattern
    I’ve also used (and credited to you) your photo. If you approve of this, you need to go to ravelry and give them permission to keep using it, or the photo will be taken down.
    What a gorgeous pattern.
    xoxo

  12. Thanks so much for the pattern-your pictures and comments were so helpful to get this little guy figured out!
    I put it on a toque I knitted for my nephew and it was the perfect way to finish it off.
    You’re awesome!
    Sarah

  13. Oh my gosh! So cute and so much fun to make!! It”s a good thing my son already has some blank t-shirts. 🙂
    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/FidoGwen/t-rex-applique-pattern
    Thank you for sharing such an awesome pattern!

  14. Hello!

    I’m planning on featuring your pattern on my blog next week! I’ll include one photo and a link to the pattern, with full credit to you, and none of the written pattern itself. If you have any objections, please let me know!

    Tamara
    http://www.mooglyblog.com

  15. […] T-Rex Applique Pattern by Pride of Lions: Now any item can be the king of it’s kind! Includes a full photo tutorial! […]

  16. Thank you so much for this perfect explained tutorial!!!! Happy Easter :O) Raphaele

Leave a Reply

 
