A Sparkling Cowl

This yarn is awesome.

This yarn is awesome.

One of my favorite parts of living on the North Shore of Boston was how many yarn shops there were. In my town (Beverly, MA) there were actually THREE neighborhood yarn shops! Crazy. I couldn’t necessarily afford what was in them, but I would periodically stop by and drool a bit.

Then I heard about this thing called a yarn crawl. What happened when I went last year was that I printed out a “passport” from their website, and visited all the yarn stores on the North Shore that I had time to go to (I went to the three in my town, and one in neighboring Hamilton, MA), taking advantage of the deals, giveaways and classes/tutorials that each store is offering. At each store I got a stamp on my “passport”, which I left at the final store to be entered into a drawing for some yarn goodies. I didn’t win anything, but I did learn the magic loop method, a new method of casting on, and how to cable without a cable needle. It was awesome.

I also picked up a couple of extra special balls of yarn. I hardly ever go for expensive yarn because I generally like to make larger projects, and the cost quickly becomes prohibitive. But I thought, “I can use these for hats and scarves. It’ll be great!” This is the first of my fancy yarns that I’ve finished working, and I’m really pleased with how it came out!

Most of the appeal of this cowl/scarf is in the sparkling shininess. I didn’t want to do too much to detract from the excellence of the yarn, so I kept it simple.

Materials:

– As often seems to happen to me, I took the label off this yarn without paying attention to what it was and now I forget. (I wasn’t really thinking in terms of blogging when I first started it in the spring…) My best guess is that it’s either Stacy Charles Ritratto yarn, or Filatura di Crosa Gioiello yarn.

the finished cowl and knitting needles

the finished cowl and knitting needles

– Size 15 knitting needles.

– Yarn needle

Pattern:

Row 1: cast on 18 sts, using whatever method you like the best. (K1, p1) rep to end.

Row 2: (K 1, p1) rep to end.

Row 3: (P1, k1) rep to end.

Row 4: (P1, k1) rep to end.

Row 5: (K1, p1) rep to end.

Rep rows 2-5 for pattern. Yep, it’s just your basic moss stitch. I know, I’m so creative, right?

Continue knitting until the yarn’s almost gone (about 36 inches for me), bind off, leaving a long tail. Sew the end of the scarf to the beginning to form a cowl. Weave in ends.

I just sewed right down the seam. You can't really tell, but I thought I'd post a pic anyway.

I just sewed right down the seam. You can’t really tell, but I thought I’d post a pic anyway.

And then there are two ways to wear it:

I think I look kinda like a 90's actress in this one, but this is how it lays the long way, just placed around your neck.

I think I look kinda like a 90’s actress in this one, but this is how it lays the long way, just placed around your neck.

And this is how it looks wrapped twice around your neck. Both ways are very warm.

And this is how it looks wrapped twice around your neck. Both ways are very nice and  warm.

As usual, I forgot to take the pictures until after it was too dark in most of the house to get a good shot, but still light enough in the window to wash me out. Heh. Maybe one day I’ll learn!

~ by oflions on January 17, 2013.

2 Responses to “A Sparkling Cowl”

  1. I want one!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
