Stripy Afghan

I often like to make throw-sized afghans, because they’re quicker than full sized ones, and so I can do more complex things without going crazy from how long it’s taking (like this Tiger Afghan). However, in the wintertime, smaller blankets don’t always cut it. This is partly because my husband is a blanket-stealer. We’ll go to bed with the blankets neatly divided up between us, all warm and cozy, but then when we wake up, they’ll all have migrated over to his side (except the sheet, which somehow migrated to me… not sure how that works…) I decided to make a GIANT afghan, so that even if my husband did magnetize all the blankets to his side, the edges would still be covering me.

This is our 8' x 10' living room rug.

This is our 8′ x 10′ living room rug.

This is my 8' x 10' afghan!

This is my 8′ x 10′ afghan!

Everything worked out just as I planned. I started this afghan in late September, took a break to finish the Fall Leaves Afghan, and have been working on it pretty hard since then. It was really relaxing compared to my other projects, since it’s very repetitive (read: easy to do while watching television), and I feel like it worked up quickly for how large it is.

The other thing that made this blanket possible is the fact that my projects never seem to end neatly. I don’t know about other people, but my afghans never seem to end just as my skein of yarn does- in fact, just the opposite! I can’t even tell you the number of times that I have maybe a foot left to go on the border or one measly square of a color and I run out of yarn. It’s too much to ignore, but it feels like a total waste to buy a whole new skein. So I had a whole bunch of single, mostly unused skeins of yarn, and wanted to be able to use a whole bunch of different and not necessarily matching colors. That actually worked out really well: the afghan has a total of 211 rows and 36 different colors, each separated by a small single crocheted row of black yarn. The best part of the colors was that the black didn’t even have to be the same black! (I had 3 different brands, Caron One Pound, Mainstays, and Red Heart, all of which were slightly different colors, but the same weight)

It reaches the floor on both sides.

It reaches the floor on both sides.

The number one best thing about this blanket was the fact that there were only 4 ends to weave in, and two of those were only because of the fact that I didn’t realize I could cover them as I went along until row 3. This was especially a relief coming after the Leaves afghan, since it had about 8-10 ends per square. Weaving ends is my least favorite part… some of the afghans lying around my house still have ends poking out 3 years after I finished them…

On to the pattern!

Materials:

– Red Heart Super Saver yarn in as many colors as desired, with black as an accent. (I think I used about 45 oz of black for the 8×10 foot afghan, but it’s hard to say, because some of the skeins were partially used already)

– Size I crochet hook

– yarn needle

Pattern:

Row 1: With black yarn, chain multiples of 10 plus 2. For a 10 foot blanket, I chained 362, but if you want to make a smaller blanket, you can chain fewer. (I’m guessing that for a 6 foot blanket, you would chain 212). Sc in second ch from hook and in each ch across, fasten off.

Row 2: With colored yarn, attach to last sc of previous row, ch 1, *sc in 1st sc, hdc in next sc, dc in next sc, htc in next sc, tc in next sc, half quadruple crochet (does this exist? wrap the yarn around the hook 3 times, pull up a loop in next sc, yo and pull through 2 loops on hook twice, pull through remaining 3 loops on hook), tc in next sc, htc in next sc, dc next sc, hdc in next sc, repeat from * across, end with a sc in last sc, fasten off.

If you like your stitches to be attached (like I do), instead of yarning over, pull a loop from the side of the previous stitch. (One for double crochet, two for triple crochet, 3 for quadruple crochet)

Row 3: Attach black yarn, ch 1, sc in each stitch across.

Row 4: With colored yarn, attach to last sc of previous row, ch 3, *half quadruple crochet in 1st sc, tc in next sc, htc in next sc, dc next sc, hdc in next sc, sc in next sc, hdc in next sc, dc in next sc, htc in next sc, tc in next sc, repeat from * across, end with a hqc in last sc, fasten off.

Row 5: Attach black yarn, ch 1, sc in each stitch across.

Repeat rows 2-5 for pattern. Weave in ends.

Here's how it looks close up. I connected all my stitches so there wouldn't be any spaces in the weave.

Here’s how it looks close up. I connected all my stitches so there wouldn’t be any spaces in the weave.

~ by oflions on January 24, 2013.

One Response to “Stripy Afghan”

  1. I love it!! It looks so spiffy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
