Valentine’s Roses

Roses go with Valentine’s Day like peanut butter goes with jelly. So when I saw this really adorable pattern for roses, and I couldn’t resist trying it for a Valentine’s blog post.

It mostly was pretty easy to follow, but I couldn’t for the life of me figure out how to make the leaves, so I just kind of did my own thing… I just ch 11, sc in 2nd ch from hook, hdc, 2 dc, 2 tc, 2 dc, hdc, sc, ch 11 more, sc in 2nd ch from hook, hdc, 2 dc, 2 tc, 2 dc, hdc, sc, extra sc in the side of first leaf’s sc.

After you finish the first leaf, you ch 11 and do another.

After you finish the first leaf, you ch 11 and do another.

You can kind of see the extra sc at the center of the two leaves.

You can kind of see the extra sc at the center of the two leaves.

Of course, after I made one rose, I had to try it in a few other colors and weights of yarn…

And now I've got six...

And now I’ve got six…

After I finished making them, I was like “Oh wait, I’m too practical for this. I don’t need all these roses! What am I supposed to do with them all now that I have them?”

The first one I put on a safety pin, and stuck onto a sweater.

The first one I put on a safety pin, and stuck onto a sweater.

The second one I also stuck on a safety pin and put on my coat.

The second one I also stuck on a safety pin and put on my coat.

The third one I decided could be a Christmas ornament next year... everyone needs a rose on their tree, right?

The third one I decided could be a Christmas ornament next year… everyone needs a rose on their tree, right?

Then I ran out of creativity. You only need so many roses to pin onto things, and I’m not really sure what else to do with them. Maybe a hat or something? If you have an ideas, let me know!

Sad roses waiting for a purpose in life.

Sad roses waiting for a purpose in life.

~ by oflions on February 14, 2013.

One Response to “Valentine’s Roses”

  1. Reblogged this on Chapstick Goddess and commented:
    Great pattern…had to share

Leave a Reply

 
