Snowflake Garland

I originally planned this post for mid-December, so that I could put my snowflake garland on my tree and make it look so elegant and winter-ly. That didn’t happen, but I do find it appropriate that I finally finished it as another good sized snowstorm hits Massachusetts. Now I can have snow inside and out!

I didn't know where to hang it, so I just put it on my yarn cupboard.

I didn’t know where to hang it, so I just put it on my yarn cupboard.

Materials:

– Aunt Lydia’s Fine Crochet Thread size 20 (or any size 20 crochet thread)

– Crochet hook size 7 (1.65 mm)

– yarn needle

– stitch holder, if desired

– starch

– pins

– something to pin the garland to (a large flattened cardboard box works just fine)

Directions:

Ch 20 and put yarn needle or stitch holder into 20th ch to keep it from unraveling.

Ch 20 and put yarn needle or stitch holder into 20th ch to keep it from unraveling.

Leave the desired amount of length from the main chain (I left .5-1" for the short snowflake, 1-2" for the medium, and 1.5-3" for the longest dangling snowflake) yarn over.

Leave the desired amount of length from the main chain (I left .5-1″ for the short snowflake, 1-2″ for the medium, and 1.5-3″ for the longest dangling snowflake) Yarn over.

bring the yarn under the lower thread.

bring the yarn under the lower thread.

bring the crochet hook to the right so you can see the twist in the yarn.

bring the crochet hook to the right so you can see the twist in the yarn.

yarn over again, and pull through the loop you've formed.

yarn over again, and pull through the loop you’ve formed.

This should make a knot with a loop at the end of it so you can keep crocheting from here.

This should make a knot with a loop at the end of it so you can keep crocheting from here.

Chain 4

Chain 4

Join with a slip stitch to form a ring

Join with a slip stitch to form a ring

Ch 1, sc in ring, (ch 3, sc in ring)5 times, ch 3 attach to first ch 3 with a slip stitch.

Ch 1, sc in ring, (ch 3, sc in ring)5 times, ch 3 attach to first ch 3 with a slip stitch.

*sc into ch 3 space twice, ch 2, sc into side of previous sc, sc into ch 3 space. Rep from *5 times, join to beginning sc with a slip stitch. (If you want a more detailed picture, check out my star garland)slip stitch to the right of the hanging thread.

*sc into ch 3 space twice, ch 2, sc into side of previous sc, sc into ch 3 space. Rep from *5 times, join to beginning sc with a slip stitch. (If you want a more detailed picture, check out my star garland)
chain to the right of the hanging thread.

chain to the left of the hanging thread. Alternate right and left chains so that the hanging thread is in the middle of the chain.connect to main thread with a slip stitch.

chain to the left of the hanging thread. Alternate right and left chains so that the hanging thread is in the middle of the chain.

Connect to the main thread with a slip stitch. Chain 20 between each snowflake, for as long as desired (I made 70 snowflakes and that was about 9 feet long)

Connect to the main thread with a slip stitch. Chain 20 between each snowflake, for as long as desired (I made 70 snowflakes and that was about 9 feet long)

You can make your garland as long as you want, but remember, you have to pin them! I blocked the snowflakes while I was watching a movie, and my 70 snowflakes took about an hour and a quarter.

You can make your garland as long as you want, but remember, you have to pin them! I blocked the snowflakes while I was watching a movie, and my 70 snowflakes took about an hour and a quarter.

At first I pinned each of the 6 arms of the snowflake, but I ran out of pins.

At first I pinned each of the 6 arms of the snowflake, but I ran out of pins.

So then instead I just pinned the centers, sometimes with 2 pins so they wouldn't get too oval.

So then instead I just pinned the centers, sometimes with 2 pins so they wouldn’t get too oval.

Everything all nice and dry

Everything all nice and dry

And a close-up of the nicer looking snowflakes where I pinned all 6 rays. You can also see that I wasn't overly careful to make the lengths that the snowflakes hang down even...

And a close-up of the nicer looking snowflakes where I pinned all 6 rays. You can also see that I wasn’t overly careful to make the lengths that the snowflakes hang down even…

~ by oflions on March 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
