Beading: my first foray into the world of jewelry-making

For a while now, I’ve looked with curiosity on the world of jewelry-making. I think it’s really awesome that you can take a few beads, a bit of wire and some tools and out comes this gorgeous creation. So when one of the people I volunteer with asked me if I’d ever tried pearl knotting, and whether I’d like to try it and repair her necklace, I was more than willing to give it a go.

Especially after I watched a youtube video showing just how easy it is.

Well, of course it’s never as easy as it looks in video, but after a bit of practice, I’d say my first attempt at making jewelry went over pretty well!

First I had to gather all the materials, including something to substitute for the tweezers the person in the video used.

First I had to gather all the materials, including something to substitute for the tweezers the person in the video used.

My pliers worked just fine... there sure were a lot of beads though! (I didn't count them all, but I'm pretty sure there were over 150)

My pliers worked just fine… there sure were a lot of beads though!
(I didn’t count them all, but I’m pretty sure there were over 150)

I put a bit of glue over the ends so they wouldn't come unraveled.

I put a bit of glue over the ends so they wouldn’t come unraveled.

After I had finished everything, as I was cutting off the ends, one of the beads split in half, so I had to do it all over again.

After I had finished everything, as I was cutting off the ends, one of the beads split in half, so I had to do it all over again.

But I finally succeeded! It looks pretty good, if I do say so myself.

But I finally succeeded! It looks pretty good, if I do say so myself.

I enjoyed fixing this necklace, but I don’t think I’m going to run out and get a bunch of jewelry supplies for myself. For one thing, it wouldn’t fit in my apartment because the yarn’s taking up too much space. And for another, I’m still thinking about what I want my next creative thing to be.

Last year I started learning to play colonial snare drum. (I’m still learning).

Up next in my things to learn in my life are:

– a second language (fluently)

– how to spin my own yarn

– jog a mile in under 10 minutes

and there’s still so many things I haven’t done yet even in the knitting and crocheting scene. (Like socks…) And there’s getting better at all the things I’ve already started… it never ends! (And I’m glad! If there weren’t anything more to do in life that’d be super boring)

So while this project was a fun interlude, I’ll be putting off a more comprehensive look into the whole jewelry thing for a while… at least until we’ve got a bigger place! 🙂

~ by oflions on April 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
